Uncategorized

9/22: A Cup for One

IMG_6572.JPG

Just a few days ago, I discovered the gem that is Coffee Prince.

Although I initially planned to stop at the second episode, out of boredom, I decided to continue watching the third episode until the fifth. What started out as plain curiosity for the said series ended up into full-blown captivation. Even now, I still marvel at the audacity I had to actually feed that boredom. Nevertheless, I fell in love with Coffee Prince.

I’m not a huge fan of K-dramas. I watched them occasionally in high school along with J-dramas and anime and then sort of abandoned the interest in college. The last series I watched was Descendants of the Sun but despite the hype and recommendations, I never managed to finish it. I guess pretty boy Song Joong Ki isn’t my type? Anyway, so when I fell in love with Coffee Prince, I fell completely head over heels. I love it so much I’d marry him if Coffee Prince were a man, borrowing the words from dramabeans, for two main reasons:

  1. Gong Yoo. That guy is just dreaaaamy  and he plays his role really well that I’m confused if I want him or the character he’s playing. Can I have both? ❤yoo140112
  2. The main OTP: Choi Han Gyul and Go Eun Chan. I cannot stop gushing over them. They have legit chemistry. I kept watching some of their scenes again and again. I even Googled about whether they actually had a thing going on in real life. Sadly, there wasn’t. Both of them are currently single though so there’s still hope!egtjop

If it weren’t for the incredible chemistry between the lead actors in Coffee Prince, I probably wouldn’t be as interested as I am. Watching them bicker, make up, bond and ultimately fall in love and seeing Han Gyul struggle because of his growing affection for Eun Chan and deciding to love her anyway regardless of gender (he thought she was a guy) made me think about falling in love and romance, in general. It’s been awhile since I’ve thought about such things and frankly, I don’t remember how it feels like waking up to somebody’s “good morning” text messages. It’s been so long since I last had nonsensical conversations with someone until midnight. I don’t get butterflies in my stomach from anyone these days either (well not really, I have a crush but I rarely see him and we’re not friends so kbye). No sweet gestures, no dates, nothing.

I miss the feeling, to be honest, and I totally relate with Tori Kelly’s Dear No One:

I like being independent
Not so much of an investment
No one to tell me what to do
I like being by myself
Don’t have to keep entertaining somebody else
No one to answer to

But sometimes, I just want somebody to hold
Someone to give me the jacket when it’s cold
Got that young love even when we’re old
Yeah sometimes, I want someone to grab my hand
Pick me up, pull me close, be my man

At the same time, I know the time is not right for me to venture into such a commitment. Well, I can but with loneliness and curiosity as my main reasons for wanting to be in a relationship, I’m better off single for the time being. Yes, it feels good to love and be loved in return but being in a relationship is also an investment of sorts and I don’t think I’m capable of investing so much right now being a medical student.

So I guess for the mean time I wait, grow in the Lord, study hard to become a good doctor, enjoy theseason of being single, and become the person my future person is looking for. I’ll just be contented with vicarious kilig from TV characters and their über sweet love lives or the occasional smiles and hellos from a crush I rarely see.

It will just be coffee for one.

For now.

And that’s okay.

 

 

Leave a Reply

