Borrowed Words

I am stingy when it comes to handling God the pen. Sometimes He has to pry my fingers loose. But with each new page of my story, I’m learning to trust His narrative more. I’m learning to believe in an ultimate happy ending, even when I don’t like some chapters He writes, because as Paul reminds us in Romans: ‘And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to His purpose.’ (Romans 8:28). We can become more content by giving God the sole authorship of our biographies. – Lisa Harper

“A lot of times people think, ‘I’ll have a good attitude as soon as I get over this health issue’ or ‘I’ll give God praise when I get through these tough times.’ But that’s not how faith works. As long as we’re negative, discouraged, and focused on our problems, it limits what God can do. You’ve got to give God praise first, and then the breakthrough will come. You’ve got to change your focus first, and then things will change in your favor. Praise always precedes the victory.” (Mike and Becky, 2012)

Leave a Reply

