Personal

Sunsets. Endings.

Sunsets, like childhood, are viewed with wonder not just because they are beautiful but because they are fleeting. – Richard Paul Evans

This was the view my close friends and I had the other day. To be honest, this is a zoomed in portion of the sky that afternoon. The rest of the sky was grey and cloudy and obstructed the sun as it set in the horizon.

Nevertheless, it was nice.

I’ve always wanted to go to the beach ever since school finished. I wanted to photograph the sunset and feel the breeze on my face as I stare at the waves kissing the shore. And I wanted to get away, too. I wanted to forget, even if only for a while, the things in the city or the lack thereof and enjoy the serenity the ocean offers.

But of course, the place we went to was not a place for sentimental soliloquies and what not and my maudlin speech was interrupted before it even really began.

That was the first sunset we saw together, I believe. That would also be the last (should any of us refuse to see another one). But I don’t know. We still have a month left until we can officially say that undergraduate school is over. There is still ample time to return to the beach and catch another sunset.

Anyway, sitting there beside two of my closest friends in college made me feel kind of sad. I couldn’t shake off the feeling that that was going to be the last sunset we would watch together as undergraduate students– people who live in the same page. Of course, I believe that occasional meet ups for coffee will not be impossible but things would be different by then: we will be living separate lives, walking different paths, and pursuing different things. Time, distance, dreams, obligations, responsibilities, and priorities will tear us apart if we allow it to. And even if we don’t, it still isn’t going to be the same. Circumstances will mold us into different people. Obligations and priorities will bring us into different places.

Very briefly that afternoon, I saw a picture of the three of us sitting on the same bench slightly older, wearing different clothes basking in the same horizon and sitting under the same sky.

This chapter is about to end.

Parting is painful. Goodbyes are inevitable. And sometimes, goodbyes are all we get before we go our separate ways. No grand gestures. No lengthy speeches. No mementos left behind.

What we bring with us as we embark on new journeys are the memories made and the hope that somehow somewhere someday our roads will cross again and, even if only for a moment, we will remember the people we once were and realize that despite the ever changing circumstances, some things remain the same.

Leave a Reply

