Personal

The Parable of the Rich Fool

One time during my grandfather’s wake, a Pastor gave a sermon on the Parable of the Rich Fool found in Luke 12:13-21. Around that time, academic demands haven’t blown full scale yet so I had the faux luxury of spending my afternoons away from home. Away from schoolwork.

The parable was talking about a certain rich man whose ground yielded an abundant harvest. The man  thought to himself, ‘What shall I do? I have no place to store my crops.’ Then he said, ‘This is what I’ll do. I will tear down my barns and build bigger ones, and there I will store my surplus grain. And I’ll say to myself, “You have plenty of grain laid up for many years. Take life easy; eat, drink and be merry.”’ But God said to him, ‘You fool! This very night your life will be demanded from you. Then who will get what you have prepared for yourself?’ Luke 12:16-20

In that short passage, it is evident that:

  • the man thought of no one but himself
    • did not even consider his relatives and much more
    • did not even consider God nor thank Him for the blessings he has received
  • the man invested only on material things
  • the man sought for wealth and pressure
  • the man was short-sighted and only thought of the present

As a result, God calls him a fool and asks for his life that very night.

Jesus ends the parable by saying that that is how it is going to be for anyone who stores up things for themselves but is not rich toward God.

Jesus warns us in Luke 12:15, “Watch out! Be on your guard against all kinds of greed,” furthermore He adds, “life does not consist in an abundance of (possessions).”

Even though this passage was talking about the hoarding of material possessions, greed, I realize, comes in all shapes and sizes. Greed, as defined by Merriam-Webster, means a selfish desire to have more of something. In another website, it defines greed as the “overwhelming urge to have more of something, usually more than you really need”. From that definition, there is the greed for money, greed for power, greed for lust, greed for success, greed for fame, greed for beauty, greed for knowledge, greed for distinction, greed for pleasure. The list goes on.

In my case, I have come to diagnose in myself the greed for achievement and pleasure manifested through the idolatrous amount of time and effort I have spent on academic requirements and internet surfing (social media sites).

Jesus clearly says: Life does not consist in the abundance of good grades nor in the abundance of social media relevance.

So what does life consist of? What else is the meaning life if not in the abundance of achievements, recognition, approval, etc?

Life consists of investing on things of eternal value: our relationship with the Lord.

That is not to say we are to neglect everything else; we are still held accountable for what we do with our time and responsibilities. What I mean to say is that in the grand scheme of things, the only thing that will truly matter in the end is how much effort and investment we have put into our relationship with the Lord.

Nothing else matters as much.

 

Leave a Reply

