Personal

 Today marks the beginning of my fourth (and hopefully, Lord-willing, final) year in my undergraduate study. It still feels surreal to me the reality of it all. It’s been four years. Wow. It feels as though it were only yesterday that I was this angsty freshman who refused to make friends with her classmates. Of course that all change a month later. Friendships were necessary for survival in college.

I still wonder from time to time what could have happened if I studied outside my hometown. I still wonder how my life turned out if my mom allowed me to go. Would I be the same person I am today? Would I look at life the way I look at it now? Would I have met God if I studied elsewhere?

Being church-grown, I know a lot about God. I know the stories, the parables, the Bible characters. I know Jesus and what he did on the cross for mankind, for me. But it didn’t mean much to me… not until I became involved in a parachurch organization in my first year. Coincidentally, that was the same year our church launched a series on the Bible based on Max Lucado’s book (The Story). Sometimes I wonder what I got out of that series and arrogantly say I got nothing only to remember with embarrassment that it did do me a lot: God used my Bible study leader through the series to stir my heart for His church, for His glory, for Him. Through the use of a lot of people, I have come to know God in a very real way. I was not the lukewarm church-goer I used to be.

And I think that encountering God in my second year was the best thing that happened to me in the last four years. I may not have wanted to be here to begin with but getting to know and experiencing Him personally is something I wouldn’t trade for anything in the world.

I’m still pursuing the same major, by the way, despite my initial plans of transferring to another major on my third year. I’m still majoring in Zoology and I don’t intend to leave anymore… unless God wills me to. Here is where I have been placed and here is where I ought to bloom and grow into becoming the person God wants me to be.

Thank you, Father.

One more year, God-willing.

Your grace has brought me safe thus far and it will be the same grace that will lead me home.

Help me, God.

I bring back all the glory and honor to You. 🙂

Leave a Reply

